St Albert’s Priory and Catholic Chaplaincy
Although a small priory, the community of friars provides a fraternal and spiritual home for the various thriving ministries found in our apostolate here, serving the staff and students of Edinburgh University and local lay people: pastoral and spiritual support; preaching and the sacraments; teaching and discussion.
History: Foundation and Re-foundation
The Edinburgh Priory was first founded about 1230-1, in the reign of King Alexander II. The Priory was then destroyed in 1559, during the reformation. The Order of Preachers returned to Edinburgh in 1931 at the invitation of the Archbishop to be Catholic Chaplains to the University. The re-foundation of our mission in Edinburgh was realised under the Provincialate of fr Bede Jarrett OP who insightfully foresaw the expansion of the University. The property then acquired is now at the centre of the main Campus. Subsequently we were established as a non-territorial Parish for the staff and students of the University of Edinburgh.
The dramatic purpose-built and multi award-winning chapel completed in 2012 stands as a sign of the friars’ commitment to the future of the local Church and community.
St Albert’s Catholic Chaplaincy, 24 George Square, Edinburgh EH8 9LD
Phone: +44 (0) 131 564 1175